Black Kat RaceQueen art process Part 1

Uncategorized

I set up the “Artraccoon’s Hidden Fortress”, waaaaaaay back in 2012, and didn’t do anything with it. Well, Today that changes, and what better way to make that change than to share my series of “art process” posts that I been doing over on Facebook and Deviant Art.  As time goes on expect more postings on artwork I’m doing, SF in general, my support of the “Sad Puppies” Hugo campaign, and the occasional position statement.

I thought that I’d share with everyone a step-by-step process of my way of working. There’s nothing great or really special about how I do things, but it might help some starting artists, inspire others, and be of general interest to folks to see what’s all involved.  The piece I’m doing is of an SF racing spacecraft with the team’s race queen sitting on the craft’s nose. Since she’s the focus, I’ll work on her first. I do a rough in BiC pen of the whole scene( on the left ) and from that I make a larger image in pencil, work out the details, then ink the image( on the right ). The line art gets cleaned up in Photoshop and readied for the next step.   I started posting this series at my Facebook page, and that’s where they will appear first…so pay me a visit, and Like whatcha see!  :)

One thought on “Black Kat RaceQueen art process Part 1

Leave a Reply

